Farm Bill

More Committee Assignments

January 27, 2011

Senate Agriculture Committee The new roster for the Senate Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry Committee was announced January 27.  As expected, Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) takes over the reins as Chair, and Pat Roberts (R-KS) replaces Saxby Chambliss (R-GA) as the Ranking Member. New to the Committee are two GOP first term GOP Senators — John […]

Democrats Named to House Ag Subcommittees

January 25, 2011

On Tuesday, January 25, House Agriculture Committee Ranking Member Collin Peterson (D-MN) announced the Democratic members and leadership for the Ag Committee’s newly reorganized Subcommittees. Also, the House Appropriations Committee announced its Democratic subcommittee assignments last week; the four Democratic members of the Subcommittee on Agriculture are listed below. House Agriculture Committee: Subcommittee on Conservation, Energy, […]

Taxpayers Believe More Should be Spent on Food Safety, Conservation, Reseach, Rural Development

January 20, 2011

A new study, to be presented at the Southern Agricultural Economics Association 2011 Annual Meeting in February, finds that taxpayers believe that less money should be spent on direct payments, price supports, and crop insurance, while more should be directed toward food safety, natural resource conservation, research and education, and rural development.  The paper was […]

Democrats Named to House Agriculture Committee

January 19, 2011

On Wednesday, January 19, Rep. Collin Peterson (D-MN), ranking Democrat on the House Agriculture Committee,  announced the new Democratic members of that Committee, a slate dominated by New Englanders. Joining the Committee for the first time are Representatives Chellie Pingree (ME), Joe Courtney (CT), Peter Welch (VT), and James McGovern (MA).  Also joining are Representatives […]

2012 Farm Bill Summit: The Road to Reform

January 18, 2011

On January 12-13, NSAC hosted a 2012 Farm Bill Summit in Washington, D.C.   The Summit brought together 125 participants representing 95 organizations, an impressive array of experts and activists engaged in furthering the aims of the public interest community in the next Farm Bill.  Organizations included farm, conservation, rural development, public health, food system, […]

House Agriculture Committee Re-Organizes

January 18, 2011

As often happens following elections that shift the party in the majority, the new Republican leadership of the House Agriculture Committee reorganized the panel’s subcommittees. As we previously have reported, Rep. Frank Lucas (R-OK) is the new Chair of the Full Committee, and former Chairman Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) has been named Vice Chair. There are […]

NSAC Announces Strategic Initiative Grant Award Winners

January 4, 2011

The National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition is very excited to announce a new round of Strategic Initiative Grant (SIG) awards that will build our coalition’s grassroots strength for the 2012 Agriculture Appropriations and Farm Bill Campaigns. NSAC thinks the best way to achieve long-term food and farm policy change is to build the capacity of its […]

New Republican Agriculture Committee Members Named

December 17, 2010

On Thursday, December 16, Chairman-elect of the House Agriculture Committee Frank Lucas (R-OK) issued a press release welcoming the 16 new Republican members of the committee. Lucas noted the varied geographic backgrounds of the incoming members, whose home states range from North Carolina to Colorado.  “They represent a broad slice of the country and will […]

Tax Cuts Package Likely to Pass Senate

December 10, 2010

UPDATE: The Senate passed the tax cuts package this morning (Wednesday, December 15) by a vote of 81-19; the House is expected to take up the bill for debate tomorrow. — A controversial package of legislation negotiated by President Obama with Republican legislators, including a 2-year extension of the Bush-era tax cuts for all income […]

Rep. Frank Lucas Voices Plans for House Agriculture Committee

December 10, 2010

In an interview with DTN agriculture policy editor Chris Clayton published on Friday, December 10, Representative Frank Lucas (R-OK) outlined his plans as chair of the next House Agriculture Committee. Lucas, who takes over the committee next month, appears determined and hopeful about completing a farm bill for President Obama to sign by mid-2012, just […]


Stay Connected